I WANTED TO BE LIKE BEN CARSON…

I Wanted to Be Like Ben Carson and I’m not ashamed by it.

A few months ago, I was having a discussion with the Chief of my group in school, Gloria; a very wonderful lady with so much knowledge

During this time, I had told her of a time when I wanted to be like the retired American Neurosurgeon and Politician, Ben Carson. My group Chief laughed and asked how it was possible that someone like me ever wanted to be someone else.

My response to her Shocked even me.

I said;

“I wanted to be like Ben Carson at a point in my life when I didn’t know that there was something like being myself”

Years after I gained the knowledge that there is actually a place of being myself.
Being who I want, what I want, who God has design me to be. At this point, I started the journey of becoming the best of myself.

This realization took some time and some learning.

Do I still admire some qualities of the man? Yes!
Do I want to be like him? No!

Because unto us different measures have been allotted and his race is not my race neither is my struggle his.

Maintain your lane! Enjoy whatever you have and step by step you’d start appreciating the little and big things that God has put in your life.

Leave a Reply

