Some ways never change.

I have been gobbling up more biographies of very successful men and women since I walked out of the 8am-9pm cage a month ago. I am fully convinced that the principles of success are the same. Diligently do what another did; under same circumstance you will get similar results. Also, I have noted a common denominator among these successful stories. They always get to points where they hit a wall, but whenever they face very challenging situations. They seem to know in a twinkle of an eye, what next to do and without wasting time, they just do it. They hardly procrastinate.

I love the maverick called Mark Cuban, owner of Dallas Mavericks Basketball team. I have watched his documentary for close to 7 times. I have read his Leadership Lessons, and I find him quite interesting. If you ever watch him while his team is losing a game you will know why, he cannot afford the undecodable visage that Abrahimovic carries whenever Chelsea is messing up. Cuban can easily engage the coach and the referee in a hot exchange of words. He is indeed a maverick.

Not all of us were able to hit the billionaire club under the age of 30 or under 40, at least I am out of that age bracket now but there are still a lot to learn from people who had the gumption to do at 25 what I could not bring myself to do at 35.There is no law that says I can’t take risks at 40.

I still remember that Colonel Sanders was broke at 65, instead of giving up and going on retirement, he fought back and eventually started the KFC Franchise at close to 70 years of age..According to him, you are never too old to pursue your dreams. “There’s no reason to be the richest man in the cemetery. You can’t do any business from there.” He always say.Whenever I see people lining up at the KFC outlets in Lagos to be served that ‘special recipe’, I always marvel at that story of success.

Back to our enfant terrible, Mark Cuban,according to him;”At age 24, I left Indiana and hit the road in my 1977 Fiat X19. I was on my way to Dallas. The car had a hole in the floorboard. It needed oil every 60 miles. Some college buddies of mine had told me to come to Dallas–that the weather was great, that there were jobs and that the women were amazing. I didn’t hear the first two pieces, but I definitely heard the third”.

I strongly believe that anytime you take change your life for the better, God will cause you to come in contact with people whose mind sets will ally with yours, people who will provide friendship, encouragement and that help will lead to the crystallization of your dreams, even if you are in different lines of business.

I have experience these great spirits in human forms whose love, understanding and affection has pushed me on, and have made my transition a lot more easier taking away the fear factor some promised me. This reminded me of what Mark Cuban said about his chance meeting with Michael Dell when his life took another tough turn.

According to him at the age of 25;”I started a company called Micro-Solutions. I was a PC consultant, and I sold software and did training and configured computers. I wrote my own programs. I immersed myself in the PC industry and studied Microsoft and Lotus and watched what the smartest people did to make things work. I remember one day I had to drive to Austin for some PC part, to a place called PCs Limited. The place was run by this kid who was younger than I was. We sat down and talked for a few hours. I was really impressed by him. I remember telling him, “Dude, I think we’re both going places.” That “dude” was Michael Dell”.

While my younger friends here still have the chance of meeting kindred spirits that they can go places together, those in my age bracket can also be encouraged by the fact that it is never too late to make a change for the better. The story of Colonel Sanders has so much take away for people in my age bracket. Some of us have identified certain talents or passion we can turn into money-making ventures or dream accomplishing, but many are busy dusting up their CV, padding up their CV looking for jobs when they could just turn that passion into a great dream come true.

Failure is not the opposite of success; it is simply a process on the road to success.

After a wide variety of jobs and careers spanning the next 30 years, Colonel Sanders pondered his next career while working as the attendant at a gas station. He always loved cooking and, while working at the gas station, overheard several of his customers remark how they wished there was a quick way to grab a bite while they were putting gas in their car. It was then, that Harland came up with a plan. Though he didn’t have a space for an actual restaurant at the gas station, it did provide him his own humble living quarters. It was here that he fed those weary travelers, his now famous recipes. Shortly thereafter, he started what was called, “Sunday dinner, 7 days a week”.

He was already 40 years old when he began cooking chicken for customers at his service station in Corbin, Kentucky. According to his corporate biography, “Over the next nine years, he perfected his secret blend of 11 herbs and spices and the basic cooking technique that is still used today.” Colonel Sanders became well-known in his home state, but it took another 20 years before he began franchising Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurants around the country. By 1964, when he sold his stake in the company, the Colonel’s chicken was being sold in the company’s popular paper buckets at over 600 outlets nationwide. Colonel Sanders continued to appear as the company’s spokesman for more than a decade: with his white suit, string tie and cane, he had the look of a courtly Southern gentleman.

His autobiography titled, Life As I Have Known It Has Been Finger Lickin’ Good, was published in 1974.

Age is a matter of kind, if you mind, it matters, if you don’t mind, it does not matter.

Life still begins at 40!

Dont give up, don’t give in, keep on keeping on!

KD.

Leave a Reply

